PAYING A PENNY FOR FREE THOUGHT

Hello everyone,

 

I woke up today amazed and annoyed that it was only Tuesday. But hey, that’s life right? Everyone has rough patches. That being said, some people have it way harder than others. But I hear a lot of these people who “have it easy” complaining a lot about their difficulties with life. So today I wanted to talk a bit about the different struggles in life and how people deal with them.

Firstly, I know I personally have a decent life, if not a good one. It’s always hard to judge personal struggles. I work 2 jobs, and am a full time student. So yeah, I don’t get my 8 hours of sleep every night. And that sucks. I often times have work every day, and on the days I don’t I do other productive things, like train my little brothers. But hey, I have jobs. I’m not starving. I have a roof over my head. I have enough of an income to eat out with friends and go to things occasionally that I have a personal interest in. Isn’t that enough to be happy?

Well, yes and no. Let’s take the low road on this one, and say my life sucks. I’m an average American, but being an average American isn’t that great anymore. Wealth inequality is intense, despite our lives being easier and safer than they were 150 years ago by a long stretch. Most people work long hours, and are expected to make self sacrifices to be “heroic” for their families (the last part is a careful rhetoric formulated by our media and expected interests as Americans within the cultural sphere). Some people have it harder than me, but some people have it way better. I’d love a yacht. I’d love some free time to go visit another country and not have to worry about burdening my family or myself with potential debt. But hey, maybe when things line up. Maybe if this blog takes off.

This is, of course, a very negative way to look at things. But there are also the positive aspects. Compared to many other developing countries, things here are great. I’ll never have to worry about being persecuted based on my religious inclinations, or lack there of. I have never had to worry about finding my next meal. That’s better than several billion people on Earth already. I shouldn’t complain and I should be thankful for what I have. This is the way most of Americans function. They are told by business and many times by family that they should be thankful that they have it better than so many people. And that having those advantages should be good enough.

I don’t buy it. I think that just because things are good does not make life easy. I think that the barrier for “a good life” is much higher, and should be much higher, than what it was 150 years ago. We have progressed—part of being a developed country is the fact that we can expect better treatment than in other areas. Across the board—not just the wealthiest among us. We need to take care of ourselves, and it starts from within, not from the outside. For the leader of the free world, we are lacking in free thought.

Leave a Reply

