I’M LOOKING FOR MY FRIEND

I’m looking for my friend,

Have you seen him?

He’s big and tall and quiet.

And he smiles great big smiles.

 

I’m looking for my friend,

Have you seen him?

He’s strong and kind and happy.

And he has a belly full of laughter.

 

I’m looking for my friend,

Have you seen him?

He’s smart and friendly and warm.

And he wouldn’t hurt a fly.

 

I’m looking for my friend,

Have you seen him?

He was shot dead this past week

By overzealous men with overzealous bullets.

 

I’ve lost my friend,

Did you see him?

He was just trying to make his way in the world

Gunned down under the false flag of American justice.

 

Hello everyone,

In response to the recent tragedy in Dallas as well as the shooting of Alton Sterling, I made this poem. I hope it brings some solace to those in need. Let me know what you think.

One thought on “I’M LOOKING FOR MY FRIEND

  1. Pingback: CRAFTING POETRY | cassadyblog

Leave a Reply

