MANAGING YOUR ENERGY

Hello everyone,

 

It’s another day, which means another set of responsibilities to be completed. Do you ever wonder where you get the energy to do so much? I do all the time. Seriously, I’m constantly tired, but at the same time I can keep working through things in life, which means I have energy coming from somewhere. Some people might call this internal motivation, and I’m sure they’re right, but at the same time it’s more than just mental. Sometimes different jobs require different levels of physical energy, which can make the mind more important than during, say, construction work.

That being said, it’s also really important to check out the energy you body is (or isn’t) providing to the rest of you, and what it means. I’ll use myself as an example. I typically get between 6 and 9 hours of sleep (usually closer to 6), which, especially when I am working out, is on the border or below the amount of hours needed for a body to fully recover after one night’s sleep. So how do you compensate for the lack of sleep? Well, eating better and drinking water (man, who could have told you that). I think water is the most important part. Water effectively provides hydration to the brain and body, allowing it to run more efficiently, which, if sleep is in deficit, every amount of efficiency counts. I know on many occasions for myself, I will drink upwards of 80 ounces a day in order to compensate for lack of sleep.

Sometimes, unfortunately, that doesn’t kick in until about midday, which for many people means that the morning is the worst part of their day. I’ve experienced this a lot, and of course eating breakfast helps (if you don’t eat breakfast, you should seriously consider eating something, even if it’s just a piece of toast). Personally, I like to use a vitamin C packet. It’s water soluble, which means it’s pretty much impossible to over dose on. And it provides a boost in energy…kind of like orange juice on steroids.

Energy also comes from food, which I’ll briefly discuss. Obviously, different foods have different nutrients, but I think there is a reason that the most important foods are from greens. It would do you good to read a bit about Trophic Levels to help understand my logic on this. Basically, energy comes from sunlight for plants, where they absorb the most energy. Consuming the plant means we get one-tenth of that energy. Consuming something that ate the plant gives us one-hundredth the energy from the original plant. Which means on a purely energy scale, you should eat things like, I don’t know, broccoli. Of course, sometimes its really hard to eat stuff like this in the morning. Especially since it can take time to prepare, so I understand if that’s not doable. I don’t really have time for it in my mornings. That being said, the upside is real and fantastic. What are your thoughts on ways to get more energy? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “MANAGING YOUR ENERGY

  1. COFFEE! Tee hee…
    And not too much either; or I get lethargic. Since I’m not a morning eater, I’ve taken to making fruit smoothies.. And most recently adding a cup of spinach or other greens to the mix! It tastes great and gives me smooth flowing energy for a few hours.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

