A LOOK INTO SPIRITUALITY

Hello everyone,

 

Good afternoon! So today I wanted to talk about the spiritual. Do you ever feel like you know what’s coming, or in touch with everything around you, and yet at the same time you feel like you are still your own being? Good, that means you’re capable of thinking about and observing the things around you, so hopefully this talk I’m giving will leave you thinking “Hmm” rather than “what the heck was he talking about?”

So let’s get into it. Being spiritual is something that a lot of people giggle and make jokes about. I have no doubt you’ve probably heard a condescending reference to some white woman talking about spirituality as she drinks her Starbucks and does yoga. And while those jokes are all well and good sometimes, they do undermine the value of being spiritual. I mean, from the perspective of an Atheist, I would imagine religious belief looks similar to this. Yet I guarantee if someone talked about the old white men with their robes and crackers, a large number of Christians would be upset. Regardless of jokes, the point of these comparisons is to express that spirituality is a subjective matter, and though one way is valuable to a large group of people, it’s very possible that another way is just as valuable to a smaller, less organized group.

So let’s talk about being spiritual. Man people who feel spiritual feel a connection to something. Whether it’s God, several gods, nature, or just the general vibe of living, typically there is a force outside the tangible that exists in the minds of these people. Of course, while just feeling a connection can be comforting, many people will go further and focus on this connection in order to create something out of it, or allow for it to shape their perspectives in life.

Now, I have no doubt many Christians reading this are a little upset that I equated spirituality to their religion, but at the base for it is. The whole basis for Christianity is very spiritual. Each person’s body is a vessel for an eternal soul, which goes somewhere that science cannot find, whether it’s heaven or hell. And that’s a fine belief to hold.

When I think about religion, I often think back to my history classes in high school, where I learned about Napoleon. Now, Napoleon, if memory serves, was a very religious person, but he realized that it provided an outlet for people to find peace, which, for an emperor, was very important. Does this mean he was controlling his masses? No, but it did mean he granted them the ability to control themselves. Which means being spiritual also provides new avenues for people to be controlled. Think about the old age of the Church, where in Europe, it was arguable that the Pope controlled more power than most countries. Hard to argue spirituality was good for the freedom of people.

Then again, the trade off for this freedom was comfort. People who suffer often turn to spirituality for happiness. And perhaps this is acceptable, even if it means the loss of some freedoms. What do you think? Let me know!

4 thoughts on “A LOOK INTO SPIRITUALITY

  1. Interesting thoughts on spirituality, indeed. I find that every human is a spiritual being. We are all hard-wired to worship something: a tree, a sport hero, a cow, our philosophy or the God of the Bible. Each to his own, we will all see where it leads. I take the God of the Bible, because it makes more sense to me. When you are a passenger on an airline going down in flames or caught in a hurricane at sea, or being told by the doctor, put your house in order because your time is up–these are the times we are truly tested as to the worth of what we believe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I guess I never looked at spirituality as a loss of freedom. But I have thought of materiality as a loss of freedom. Every time I get more stuff, I feel controlled by it. Interesting blog. All I know is what I’ve experienced, after a terrible accident, my suffering was relieved when I focused on spirituality, rather than my material persona or the doctors insistence my bleeding liver was fatal. Fortunately, the surgeon in charge noticed I was stabilizing and let me “pray,” although he told me he didn’t believe in it in a way that didn’t offend me, but made me thankful for his honesty. And honesty is what I read here, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your insight and compliments! 🙂 I’m sorry to hear about your accident. It sounds like you’re on the mend now though, despite some difficult circumstances, which is a great thing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

