SIX MONTHS IN

Hello everyone,

Wow! I was just reviewing some statistics on WordPress, and I noticed that it’s been exactly six months from when I first posted a blog entry on this website. Since then, I’ve done a lot. I’ve written 5 posts per week, every week, for 6 months. Thats like 120+ posts. Can you believe that? That being said, I still feel like I’ve got a long ways to go before I reach my goals for this blog.

Goals are such a tough thing to achieve sometimes. Think about every goal you have ever had. How many of those goals did you actually follow through with? Especially long term goals. Ironically, that’s a place that I’m at. I go back to school tomorrow and I have to figure out a way to write every day again so that I can still put out content at 3:00 pm, even though I will be at work or in class many of those days during the whole morning. And it’s a little intimidating, because it’s so easy to fall out of a schedule.

Anyways, so how exactly do we achieve these goals? Well, we dig deeper. Maybe that means waking up an hour earlier, maybe it means doing things in advance so that things don’t accidentally fall apart because you were busy. Maybe there’s something else. Maybe it means reducing your work load a bit in order to better spread things out. I already did that once though, I knocked down my average writing from almost one thousand words per day to a number closer to five hundred words. Which had made writing a lot more manageable. I’ve also added some creative prose and quite a bit of poetry to challenge myself to write more and in new ways. I’m not the best at creative writing yet, and it has given me a lot more respect for people who write fiction for a living. I mean, it’s so difficult to write a book. I posted a short story about a girl that I wrote for a final on this blog, and that was something that I felt exhausted after writing, and it was just some 16 pages long. And people write thousands of pages chronicling these epic sagas of people.

Yet each of those books start with a single word on an empty page. Which is how I like to view all of life. We all start with blank pages any time we start a new journey. And the best part is anybody can start over. You can always tear a page out and start again if something went wrong. But if you keep writing, you’ll eventually have a notebook full of stories and ideas that nobody else can take from you. And that is beautiful in and of itself. Maybe your writing has been a little messy, or maybe you didn’t use perfect grammar at all times. Maybe you wrote in the margins. But if you made it through to the end, then your story is just as worthy as the billionaire who paid to have his story typed up in the end.

It’s been a long six months, and I’m glad to have had you along for the ride, whether this is your first trip with me, or your fiftieth. What do you think? What would you like to see more of? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

