DIGGING DEEPER

Hello everyone,

 

It’s been a while since I wrote a personal discussion of things as opposed to something creative, but here we go for a spin. Just a few days ago I crossed the two hundred post mark on this blog…which I only knew about because WordPress notified me. Anyways, that got me a tad bit excited. I mean, that’s a lot of writing. I usually spend between 30 minutes to an hour on each on, which means I’m somewhere between 100 and 200 hours spent writing openly on the Internet (in all honesty, it’s probably closer to 200, since most of my work takes closer to an hour). In that time, I’ve written poetry, political commentary, short stories, life restructuring, and emotional discussion pieces.

Sometimes, I get asked by people how I write so much—I mean, there’s only so much to talk about, right? Well, yes and no. Firstly, the human condition is infinite. Or, if not infinite, it at least is far longer than what a human could talk about in one lifetime. Seriously, I could write every day of my life and still only scratch the surface of the world. At the same time, it also begs the question: how much is relevant? I mean, do we really need another college student presenting ideas on how World War II was bad when we could go to a source that is more well-known, or even more entertaining? No.

Digging deep to be entertaining, or interesting, or whatever you want to call it, can be difficult. I know I struggle with it. I know people who are professionals that struggle with it. If you have never heard Louis C.K. talk about his life as a stand-up comic, struggling for new material, check out this video. It’s pretty enlightening, even though it’s born out of the passing of another famous comic. The reality is this: 1) we can always get better at what we do. Take Usain Bolt, famous fastest man alive. 2008, breaks the world record for the 100-meter dash, at the Olympics. This guy is set. He’s in history. He’s the greatest ever. Exactly one year later, in 2009, he breaks his own record. 2) to get better, you have to work for it constantly. Usain Bolt is a good example. It’s not like he sat around for a year to break his own record. He probably ran every day. Louis C.K. writing new material constantly to always come up with something unique and different.

This is the reason I write new stuff constantly. But what I have noticed is that it gets hard sometimes. I LOVE writing. I mean like I really, truly enjoy it. But that doesn’t mean every day is easy. Sometimes I don’t know what to write about. Sometimes I sit down at the computer with no clue what is going on. Some days suck. I’ve written things I don’t particularly like. But if you throw darts at a dartboard 200 times, sometimes you’ll hit dead in the center, sometimes you’ll hit that solid midpoint, and sometimes you’ll miss that board entirely. If you never throw the darts, however, then you can never hit the bullseye. And, conveniently, the more you practice, the less misses you will have.

Leave a Reply

