LOST IN THE MONOTONY

The alarm bell rings.

My eyes open. It stings.

The long night and early morning

Remind me that today will be boring.

 

I cook my breakfast; pack my lunch,

Tell the world “thanks a bunch,”

For another day it’s given me

To feel lost in the monotony.

 

I make the drive out to work

Through the 6:00 AM murk,

Then slog my way through the day

I can’t help but notice the gray.

 

The walls, the desk, the ceiling too,

Would probably be more alive in blue

Or red or yellow, or even green,

Instead, it’s a faded scene.

 

10:24, she left my text on read.

I wonder if she went to bed?

Or maybe she was with another guy,

Its not like I expected a reply.

 

12:01, it’s time time to eat

My white bread sandwich with dry meat.

My mind wanders to the weekend,

Where I went out and vacationed.

 

I took a trip to the Bahamas,

Away from all the baby-mamas

That live on the floor of my apartment,

Whose children seem to be hellbent.

 

1:01 and back to work,

I noticed that my boss will lurk

Around at the back of the room.

He’s like a figure of impending doom.

 

The day goes by very slowly,

And as it progresses I feel lonely.

Until eventually the five o’clock bell rings

And all my coworkers begin to sing.

 

I drive home through fading skies,

And arrive as stars start to rise.

Another day come to its end,

Till tomorrow when I do it all again.

——

 

Hello there!

Did you like this poem? Let me know by leaving a like and a comment!

Want to get to know more of my work? Check out my blog’s site!

Want to read more of my stuff, but don’t go on WordPress often? Check out my Facebook page!

Leave a Reply

